How to NOT to book a venue

Being young but ambitious can seem like quite the task. It is. While people sometimes admire you, they forget about some of the small things that come with the territory of being young. Let’s be honest, I’m in the generation of dating on Tinder and taking photos of your food on Instagram. I even find it hard taking some people serious my age. Which brings me to my first official concert booking.

“Mark” was planning on releasing an album in a couple weeks and wanted to get a concert going to promote it. I hadn’t booked a concert for him before (flag #51) so I figured the best way to do it would be to just find venues on email and ask them about free times.

Some responded, most didn’t. That’s fine. We got everything settled and had the right to perform at a venue in NYC. I even spoke to the event coordinator on the phone and despite my youthful voice, she was still respectful.

Booked my train up from Baltimore and met “Mark” before. Just to preface, I was 20 at the time and was not of age to get into a bar. For the most part, there’s no real problem in New York. Mostly because most bartenders don’t care. I can give you the whole you can serve in the military but can’t get served spiel, but that’s for another time.

Anyway, we couldn’t do a sound check beforehand because there was a couple of performers before us. So, we would have to do it live- really not a big deal.

We finally arrive and the bouncer is letting all of us. People are all coming through with different instruments, from drums to cellos to electric guitars. I also should have prefaced with the fact that Mark’s band is 13 people. At this point it’s less of a band but a symphony. But we’re this massive band cramming into this small venue like a bunch of clowns going into a clown car.

 

Tune in next week to see what happens next!

Leave a Reply

